Board of Selectman

The Portland Board of Selectmen consisting of the First Selectman and six (6) other Selectmen are elected at the regular Town election for a term of two (2) years.  Their general powers and duties are governed by the Town Charter, Chapter IV.

The Deputy First Selectman shall serve as Acting First Selectman in the event of the temporary absence or temporary disability of the First Selectman.

Four (4) members of the Board of Selectmen shall constitute a quorum.

Number
Name
Position
Party
Term
1.

Susan S. Bransfield

sbransfield@portlandct.org

First Selectwoman
Democrat
November 2019-2021
2.

Ralph R. Zampano

rzampano@portlandct.org

Deputy First Selectman
Democrat
November 2019-2021
3.

Michael S. Hernandez

mhernandez@portlandct.org

Selectman
Republican
November 2019-2021
4.

Louis J. Pear

lpear@portlandct.org

Selectman
Democrat
November 2019-2021
5.

Michael A. Pelton

mpelton@portlandct.org

Selectman
Republican
November 2019-2021
6.

Edward J. Sharr Jr.

rsharr@portlandct.org

Selectman
Republican
November 2019-2021
7.

James K. Tripp

jtripp@portlandct.org

Selectman
Democrat
November 2019-2021